Education · Inquiry · teaching

Passion Project: Mindfulness

Since my last post, my goal was to ‘enjoy the process’ of my workouts as well as my school process in general. While this past week may have been intensely stressful due to two large end of term projects, and a gallery walk for our semester long inquiry projects, I was able to relax a little more because I wasn’t pressuring myself to exercise in a specific way. Previously I had been forcing myself to do upper body workings even when what my body and mind was craving was yoga or a leisurely walk. This past week, I listened to my body and my mind, and did whatever they needed. I took a walk through beacon hill park on my way home from school one day to quiet my mind before I went home and committed to 3-4 hours of homework.

homework

Homework by Baylie is licensed by CC BY-NC-ND 4.0

I’ve been spending so much time staring at a computer screen that i’m using these body breaks to get me out of the house whenever the weather isn’t too dreary. I’ve also been focusing more on stretching my body, and doing familiar yoga poses if I feel sore or tight from stress. I’ve also been using stretching and yoga breaks to make the time I spend hunched over a computer easier on my body. Some days lifting weights and pushing myself does feel good, and seem to be the challenge that I need. On the days i’ve been pressed for time, I have been doing wall push ups so that I work all of the muscles at once as well as work on my push up form. I had some time before a study session the other day so I went for a leisurely  walk through a new (to me ) neighbourhood and saw this cute faerie house.

faeryhouse

Faerie House by Baylie is Licensed by CC BY-NC-ND 4.0

I haven’t been as set on “you must work out every day, and rest on Wednesday”and that has given me the freedom to not feel like working out was causing stress AND taking me away from projects with looming due dates. I’m looking forward to December when I can pick up the intensity again and focus my workouts more on building strength. Throughout this project i’ve realized that I handle intense workout schedules MUCH better when i’m not also experiening a mental workout every day in school. I need to balance the two so that exercise supports my mental workout, not make it more difficult. Monday marks my last week of school, and I plan to continue working on being mindful of how my body and mind feel, and do things that make them both feel good. Take care of yourselves!

Leave a Reply

